Target on Gender Equality

Back in July (I think) it came out that Target was going to rearrange all of their toys and bedding materials into “Boys and Girls” sections.  Here is what I had to say about that:

I see no reason for a child to be “persuaded” to choose specific toys or bedding. Growing up, I used to rip the heads off of my Barbies just to see if I could put her back together; and, I often considered He-Man to be my favorite cartoon. I loved to build things with Legos and play with my Easy Bake Oven all at the same time and I turned out just fine, thank you very much! (I’m pretty sure that being 36 and single has nothing to do with any of that). My brother, growing up with 3 sisters, loved to play dolls; I don’t think that made him any less of a boy, I think it made him the AWESOME father that he will be someday. Everyone cries for gender equality as we get older (i.e.: a woman can do anything a man can do), so what’s wrong with gender equality as a child?

Best,

Prof. D

Leave a Reply

