The cancer in our society???

I won’t say by whom, but I found this on a Facebook page, “…let’s hear where you feel the morality of our country is on the decline. In your true opinion, what is that cancer in our society that is tearing us apart slowly from the inside?”  I, being the debater that I am, needed to respond:

I could go on and on about this (especially the issues of the Catholic Religion or the government), but I won’t. I will, however, say that some of this sense of entitlement is the fault of the generation whom is raising children now. I’ve always laughed (in jest) at my elders when they tell their stories of “when I grew up…” (You know the ones I’m talking about, up hill to school, both ways, in the snow). But, as I get older, I’m starting to see the point that my elders were trying to make.

The more we coddle kids by making sure that everyone gets to play on the team (or worse, by not keeping score), the more they begin to think that everything will go their way. As an educator, I see it everyday. My students have often told me that they don’t need to do their homework because they’re going to play in the NFL, or NBA, or MLB, etc. Now, for a select few, they might end up in the pros, but it’s a VERY select few.

They got the idea in their head that they are good at what they do, but does that mean that they should throw away their college educations because they made the team (because EVERYONE makes the team?) It’s a ridiculous practice that we’re starting to see happen at a very young age (my friends kid is on a soccer league where they don’t keep score- at 11). What is this teaching these kids? They’re not learning the all important lesson of humility. We don’t always get what we want; that’s a fact of life, and teenagers these days do not see that.

What do you guys think?

Best,

Prof D

Leave a Reply

