Finding My Niche

It’s difficult enough to find exactly where you belong in this crazy world, especially when you add in the difficult notion of fame and what will get you there. Obviously, I’m a writer, I wouldn’t be here otherwise. It’s just honestly terrifying to me that the decisions I make on an every day basis have an effect on my future.

Let me back up a bit an explain where I’m coming from here. It had been my dream for a long time to get paid to write; but, because I’m a realist, I’d all but thrown that dream away (well, perhaps put it on the back burner is more likely). I never wanted to be a starving artist; so, I decided that I would go into teaching and utilize those funds to pursue my creativity on the side. I was wrong- incredibly wrong. As some of you might know, teachers don’t get into the field for the money; and, being an English teacher, I read all day, every day. The last thing I want when I come home at night is to write. I’m usually drained mentally by the time dinner rolls around.

Fast forward a few years and I still haven’t written a darn thing. A couple of my students kept telling me that I should blog, so here I am. Never, in a million years, did I think that this is where my future in writing would come in. I’d always imagined that I’d write the next great American novel, not tell my own story, let alone put it out there for the world to see. But, after my second (or maybe third) entry, I’d amassed over 100 followers. Shortly after, I got an offer to write for an online magazine. So, in a short period of time, this thing that I begrudgingly agreed to after a whole year of nagging on the part of my students, has become a HUGE piece of my life.

I began thinking that maybe I could do this. Perhaps I could make a go at it. I’m a researcher by nature, so I dove in head first; I probably read hundreds of articles about blogging (and internet mags). All of them had the same idea (in one way or another); in order to be successful, you need to have a niche and then build your brand around it. I also talked to a friend who has a fairly successful online presence with his band and he said the same thing. You see the problem here, right? I’m not exactly sure that I have a “niche” per say; I’m more of the write about what ever seems interesting (and honest) kind of gal. So, I thought about it, and thought about it, and thought about it.

In all of the that thinking, I realized that I do have a niche. Whether I’m discussing myself and how I got to where I am today, or I’m just simply discussing something that’s been on my mind, I’ve always been 100% honest. I think that’s what has attracted so many people to my blog. You might not be getting Pulitzer prize winning material, or even getting sublime advice. It’s just me and my Mac, telling it like it is, and inspiring others to do the same. Fame or no fame, I don’t intend to change!

Leave a Reply

