Mi Vida Loca

I have to apologize for not writing either Sunday or yesterday (as I promised I would); but, it’s been a heck of a few weeks…  I’ve had a death in the family, my grandmother in the hospital, and I was sick.  As a general rule, none of the above would normally “stop” me; it’s common knowledge amongst those who know me best that I am very much a Sagittarius in the sense that I rarely wear my emotions on my sleeve.  In my own warped sense of reality, fear and emotion are a weakness that I never want people to see in me.  I like to be the one who is asked for help, not the other way around.

At any rate, I think the combination of all of the above, plus my already extremely busy schedule (which, don’t get me wrong, I truly love) really got to me and I’ve spent the last couple days in a bit of a depression.  I’m feeling considerably better today, so here I am!

I learned something in these past couple of weeks though- life really is short and we’ve absolutely got to live it while we can and do as much as we can in order to live it to the fullest.

Which brings me to my main point…Mi Vida Loca

The other night, on a Periscope chat, I was asked what exactly I do for a living.  I actually laughed, because I do A LOT.  Since I’ve never actually explained what I do (or what gives me the authority to do it), I figured now is a good a time as any.

I have a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in English Literature (my master’s emphasis was on the British Renaissance- Shakespeare and such).  I also had a double minor with my bachelor’s:  Spanish and Psychology.  I am also a State of Connecticut certified teacher.

With all of this I:

Teach English and Writing at two different universities in Connecticut.

Am also the Director of the Learning Center at one of those universities.

Write for an online magazine called SheKnows, where I am considered a “relationship and pop culture expert.”  I am also a Social Media Influencer for this magazine.

Lastly, having nothing to do with my degrees, I co-own a craft business with my mother and sister.  My mother is primarily the “maker,” I help when possible and take her to various events on weekends.

I also often get asked what I like to do for fun (which I often laugh at too, because I don’t get a whole lot of “fun” time).  When I do, though, I like to read, cook, listen to music, and practice guitar.  I used to play piano, I’d love to get back into that.  I also used to be a black belt in karate and plan to get back into that soon as well.

That’s it folks, me in a nut shell.  Any other questions?

 

 

Leave a Reply

