I’m a Genie in a Bottle!

So I was posed an interesting question today by one of my students…what would I wish for if a Genie provided me with 3 wishes?

For those of you who know me, you probably know that answering this question is no easy task for me.  I know this is going to sound super cheesy, but I really have everything that I need.  I have a roof over my head, clothes to keep me warm, a family who loves me unconditionally, and a job that pays me well.  No, I’m not rich; so, my house isn’t huge and my clothes aren’t couture. I’m not materialistic in any way, so I don’t feel like I need them to be.  I have what I need and for me that’s enough.

For the most part, all I was able to come up with was things that I thought might make me a better person; which, in theory, isn’t a bad thing.  It’s just not really me, I tend to not be self-absorbed (even a little).  So,  I’ve been thinking about it now for almost an hour (maybe a bit more); but, I think I’ve got it.

  1. Health:  No, I’m not talking immortality or anything. I don’t even mean eternal health.  I just want some insurance that nothing major is going to happen to me anytime in the near future.  I have too much to do.  I know this probably sounds strange but, health is something that is really important to me.  More so than almost anything else in the world.  I hate being sick and often “pretend” that I’m not to avoid dealing with it.  Honestly, I’m just too much of a busy body to have time for being sick.  Therefore, I would do almost anything to avoid it.
  2. Readers:  Yep, I went there.  It’s no secret that I love to write, and that I’m willing to write about almost anything (I once wrote an article for a magazine about losing my virginity).  I take my job seriously, but not myself, which makes for some entertaining stories. I feel like I have a lot of important things to say, so yeah, I’d love to have more readers to share them with.  I’d also love to be able to write for a living someday; so, more readers would help me in this vein too.
  3. Wisdom: By this I don’t mean infinite intelligence; I’m not trying to be the smartest person in the world.  I mean the wisdom to be able to understand the importance of what is going on around me.  I need to remind myself every once in a while that there are circumstances in life that I have no control over; and, that mistakes are really just learning tools.  Teachable moments if you will. I am a teacher at my core, but I often forget to “teach” myself.

Now, my friends, it’s your turn.  Comment on what YOU would pick.

Leave a Reply

