Crazy CT Laws

We all know I live in CT, right?  In fact, I was born an raised here.  I was bored the other day and started to do a little research about the history of CT and came across a few websites that have all of the state laws listed in layman’s terms.  I admit it, I laughed A LOT.  Here are some of the funniest ones.  My commentary is in italics.

  1. Town records may not be kept where liquor is sold. You never know when a drunk might spill something.
  2. You can be stopped by the police for biking over 65 miles per hour.  64 is fine, just don’t go 65; cause, then, it’s dangerous!
  3. It is illegal to dispose of used razor blades.  Where am I supposed to put them?  Who wants to go in on a storage facility with me?
  4. It is illegal to discharge a firearm from a public highway. JUST on the highway; side roads are fine.
  5. In Guilford,  it is unlawful to walk backwards after sunset. All of you moonwalkers out there…I’m watching you!
  6. In Hartford, only white Christmas lights are allowed for display. They take the term White Christmas very seriously in Hartford.
  7. Also in Hartford, you aren’t allowed to cross a street while walking on your hands. Ok, when was this a problem?
  8. In Meriden,  the use of a bean whistle in public is prohibited.  Excuse me, a what?
  9. In NewBritain,  it is illegal for fire trucks to exceed 25mph, even when going to a fire.  Memo to myself:  DO NOT move to New Britain, there is a strong chance that your house will burn down.
  10. In Rocky Hill, an arcade may not have more than a total of four amusement devices such as ping-pong tables, pinball machines, or shuffleboard tables. Another memo to myself:  Don’t go to an arcade in Rocky Hill; it will be boring!
  11. In Southington, silly string is banned.  Seriously? Again I ask, when was this a problem?
  12. In Waterbury, it is illegal for any beautician to hum, whistle, or sing while working on a customer.  Dear Waterbury Police officers,  please stop giving out needless tickets for speeding and get on this one!

What state/town do you live in?  Find some crazy laws and post them here!

 

Leave a Reply

