What’s your OCD?

We all have one; you know that one thing that you ABSOLUTELY have to do (or not do)?  I firmly believe that we all have varying degrees of OCD inside of us.  For my mother, it’s odd numbers; she won’t take anything if it’s odd.  For example, if you have some sort of candy she wants, and she asks you for one, she doesn’t literally mean one.  If you give her one, she’ll ask for another.  With my father, it’s his extreme penchant for being early.  If he has to be in work at 6am (for example) and he is there any less than 20 minutes before, his whole day is ruined.

What about me, you ask?  Well, for me it’s my overwhelming thirst for knowledge.  Where some people find it easy to take everything at face value, that’s not me at all.  You can’t just tell me something and then expect me to just believe you.  I need proof and I won’t rest until I have it.

Does it help me to recognize it?  I like to think so; but, it’s not going to change any time soon because I’m OK with it.

The way I see it, knowing (and understanding) all of our little quirks helps us to be more in tune with who we really are; which, in turn, helps us be who we want to be.  If I can look in the mirror and be happy with the reflection, then I’m good.  Mind you, I’m not a doctor by any means; I’m just a small town college professor with a very strong sense of who I am.

Now, it’s your turn.  What’s your OCD?  Comment below.

Leave a Reply

