The Definition of Success

The question this week is very intriguing to me.

“Would you rather be extremely successful in an unconventional way that few people can relate to or in a conventional way that people identify with more easily?”

You see, in my opinion, it really depends on how you define success. I define success based on happiness not on how much money I have in my pocket. My mother has always warned me that the love of money is the root of all evil. I’m pretty confident, though, that it’s the watching of all of the cop dramas (that I enjoy so much) that have helped solidify that fact; they’ve also shown me that both New York City and Hawaii can be terrifying places- but that’s a whole different story.

When it comes to success, I’d like to think that I’m pretty lucky. I’m (for the most part) a happy person with a very positive outlook on life; and, I love my jobs, all of them! But the questions remains if my success is unconventional or not. I’d like to think that it’s both conventional and unconventional at the same time, and that’s only because it depends on how you look at it.

No one gets into teaching for the money. We do it because we’re passionate about what we do. Even though many can relate to being a teacher and the sacrifices we have to make every day, the fact that we (meaning collectively) deliberately get into a career in which we’ll never get rich from makes it most unconventional.

Regarding my other career, writing, I think it’s safe to say that no one WANTS to be a starving artist; but, just as it is in teaching, we all know that it’s unlikely that we will ever “hit it big.”

Leave a Reply

