To Life…

Do you more often feel that life is too short or too long?

I think the answer to a question like this relies largely on the age and experience of the person. As a kid, it’s likely that I would have said that life is too long. When you’re young, it’s hard to imagine yourself as old, or destructible, or (God forbid) mortal; we can only yearn for the days when we’re not “too young” to do anything we want to do. Then, of course, we do grow up, and we start to wish that we could go back.

For me, though, things are a little more different. In my eyes, age has always been nothing but a number. I’ll admit it, when I was younger, I never thought much about death (or dying). But recently, the word has become front and center in my life. It’s something that I think about now, almost constantly. Had I been asked this question a year ago I’m not sure what I would have said. Now, I’m fairly sure (given my mother’s situation) everyone knows what I’m going to say. Life is TOO SHORT! How can I answer any other way? Any amount of time that I get with my mother will never be enough.

Leave a Reply

