What’s guilt got to do with it?

“How much of what you do is motivated by feelings of guilt? How might your life be different if you never felt and guilt?”

Those are loaded questions because it depends on how you look at it. I can see myself answering this question in two ways.

For starters, I’ve made it my personal goal never to make a promise that I don’t intend to keep. So, often, yes I do things because I promised that I would. Often, when I make a promise, I’m pretty confident that it’s something that I can/will accomplish easily. Unfortunately, things happen, and I don’t always feel much like doing what I promised I’d do. That’s when the guilt sets in and I end up doing it anyway.

Then, there’s the other way to look at it; there are the things I do without having made a promise to do so. And the answer to that one is a big fat NO. I have an unyielding sense of who I am so I’m not likely to do anything out of feelings of guilt. I do what I do because it’s the right thing to do.

So, would my life change would I never feel guilt, yeah, I guess it would. I’d certainly have a lot more free time on my hands. But, there would be a whole of folks out there very disappointed or angry with me. If you think about it, what would I do with all of that free time anyway? A life lived selfishly isn’t worth it in my opinion, and I want my life to worth its weight in gold.

Leave a Reply

