The voting paradox

***Warning, the following post contains politial opinion.  Please remember that it is just that, my opinion.  Feel free to debate me if you’d like; you can even prove me wrong.  Just don’t hate!  Haters will be banned***

“When voting, are you more interested in a candidate’s position on issues or in a candidate’s personality and character? Do you feel that you get a real impression of either during an election campaign?”

This is an interesting question; one that I’m not sure there is a good answer to.

I will be the first to admit it when it comes time to vote (especially for President) I tend to procrastinate in doing my research. I find the whole process daunting and more of a chore than I think it needs to be. I do it, though, because it is my right and my duty. Well, that, and because I care about the future of my country.

The problem is that, often, we can’t get a firm idea of how the candidates feel/think about issues because they’re going to say whatever it is that they believe that they need to say to get you to vote. And, of course, watching the debates doesn’t help, because they’re often just speaking over one another or yelling to get the point across. In all honesty, I don’t even watch the debates anymore; I haven’t in a while. Instead, I download the transcripts a few days later and read them; much more peaceful that way.

Then, there are the commercials and constant he said/she said arguments that occur in the media during election time. Those tend to be useless too. Often, they’re grasping at straws.

So, I guess to answer the question- it’s neither. I gather all of the “evidence” that I can find and go with my gut, knowing, of course, that most of what I’m reading is only half true. Obviously, education and women’s rights are important to me, so I do pay close attention to those.

Leave a Reply

