Talkin Bout my Generation

I was born in 1978; therefore, I am of generation X (1961-1981).  Because we grew up in the grunge era, generation Xers are often considered dirty slackers.  Personally, I beg to differ.  I shower, and I have three college degrees- so there.

Here are some of the most interesting things that I found about my age group

  1. We mostly grew up in the 80’s and 90’s.  Therefore loved (or still love) New Kids on the Block.
  2. Speaking of music, we remember MTV and VH1 when they showed videos.  I still remember the first video played on MTV.  Video Killed the Radio Star by The Buggles.
  3. Before there were cell phones, there we pagers.  Yep!  I had one, a sparkly blue one to be exact.  I’m not exactly sure what the point ever was, because when you think about it if someone pages you it means that they want to talk to you, right?  How was I supposed to call them back if I was out? I mean, how is it any different than an answering machine?
  4. Email addresses didn’t come around college, so we had to do things by hand (gasp)! I remember filling out my college applications with a good old-fashioned pen (probably black because I hate blue pens).
  5. It wasn’t uncommon for kids of generation X to come home to an empty house. Due to the rise in the cost of living, parents of kids in my generation both worked, dubbing us the latchkey generation.  I was lucky, my mom worked nights, and my dad worked days, so someone was always home with us.
  6. Apparently, we’re survivors:  we came home from the hospital (after being born) in our mother’s lap, slept in a crib that was very likely painted with lead-based paint, grew up in the back seat of a station wagon (often laying across the back in the window) without a seatbelt, and learned to ride our bikes without a helmet.  Maybe this is why that Gen X is the smallest generation 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

